Recipe: Injera Chips

Sour, spicy injera chips

Sour, spicy injera chips

Before we head off for the weekend, I just wanted to share two things.  First of all, check out our kids’ photo, featured over at Anti-Racist Parent under “Gratuitous Cut Kid Pic.”  Second, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about these injera chips that I made the other day.  The recipe was given to me by a woman in our local adoption group who has four older Ethiopian kids.  I couldn’t believe how easy they were (they’re nearly impossible to screw up) and it’s a fantastic way to use up injera that is starting to get old.  I literally can’t make them fast enough to keep up with demand.

You will need:

-berbere
-oil
-injera

Preheat the oven to 275°.  In a small bowl, combine the oil and berbere in proportions to your liking.  We bought some berbere recently that isn’t particularly hot, so I added at least a tablespoon for every quarter-cup of oil.  Tear a piece of injera in half and arrange it on one baking sheet as shown, and then do the same on a second baking sheet.

This doesn't look very appetizing...but I promise, it comes out great!

This doesn't look very appetizing...but I promise, it comes out great!

Using a pastry brush, spread the oil and berbere mixture onto the injera.  Bake for about 60 minutes (more for really crispy, crunchy chips, less for chewier chips) and allow to cool before breaking into chips.  Repeat.  In the future, I’m planning on getting even more creative with these chips and adding ginger or garlic or other Ethiopian spices.  Yum.

3 responses to “Recipe: Injera Chips

  1. Yes! I have all of those things. I’m so excited to make this right now. After I go see the gratuituous cute kid pic.

  2. I made it. The oven heated my house from 92 degrees to 275, but it was worth it. I didn’t cook it long enough – I would like them crispier, but wow. It didn’t taste like what I expected and even though I used kind of a lot of berbere, it’s not that hot. I’ll do more next time. I love them. Thank you.

  3. theberberediaries

    LOL, Katy, in this heat wave?! They are that good, though 🙂

    You know, I suspect my oven runs a bit hot. I just adjusted the time in the recipe to +/- 60 minutes. I know what you mean about the berbere- even my little guy liked the chips, which was a big surprise because he doesn’t like spicy food. I wonder if baking berbere is what takes away some of the heat?

Leave a Reply

